Radiographers

The Board is no longer issuing temporary licenses to radiography, radiation therapy or nuclear medicine technology applicants. The law repealing temporary licensure went into effect on October 1, 2013.

The applicant shall complete an application pdf supplied by the Board:

  1. Be of good moral character.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. Graduation from a JRCERT-accredited radiation therapy or radiography program or a JRCNMT-accredited nuclear medicine technology.
  5. Certification/registration by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB).
  6. Demonstrate oral and written competency in English as required by the Board.
  7. Meet any other requirements established by the Board.

Yes. Applicants who did not graduate from an educational program accredited by the JRCERT or the JRCNMT may obtain a license if the applicant:
  1. Graduated from an educational program recognized by the ARRT or NMTCB as approved by the Board,
  2. Possesses a current, active unrestricted license in another state or is otherwise recognized as a radiographer, radiation therapist or nuclear medicine technologist in another state;
  3. Has full-time experience as radiographer, radiation therapist or nuclear medicine technologist in another state for at least 3 of the last 5 years immediately preceding the submission of the application for licensure;
  4. Has no history of public disciplinary action taken, pending, against any license currently or previously held or expired; and
  5. Submits verification from employers, supervisors, or colleagues that the applicant has satisfactorily practiced for the at least 3 of the last 5 years immediately preceding the submission of the application for licensure.

Applicants are also required to meet additional qualifications.

No. Verifications of employment are not required if you graduated from a program that is JRCERT or JRCNMT accredited.
The application process, on average, may take 3 – 6 weeks. However, the process may take longer depending on the individual applicant’s circumstance or if the individual does not provide the required documentation on a timely basis.
  1. Completion of a reinstatement application pdf approved by the Board.
  2. Payment of a reinstatement fee.
  3. Satisfactory evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirements.
  4. Verification from the Maryland Office of the Comptroller that the applicant has paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions payable to the Comptroller or the Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation or that the applicant has provided for payment in a manner satisfactory to the unit responsible for collection. (Maryland Health Occupations Code Annotated, § 1-213).
  1. 24 hours of approved continuing education earned during the 2- year period preceding the expiration of the license; or
  2. Verification of current ARRT registration or active certification by the NMTCB.
No. You do not need a license in order to operate bone density scanners.
Yes. A radiographer may perform insertion and removal of peripherally inserted central catheters with or without fluoroscopic guidance if the:
  1. Radiographer is:
    1. Registered by the ARRT in advanced qualifications in cardiacinterventional radiography, vascular-interventional radiography, or cardiovascular-interventional radiography;
    2. Working in a cardiac catheterization laboratory or interventional radiographic laboratory while cardiac catheterization or interventional procedures are ongoing; and
    3. Under the onsite supervision of the supervising physician;
  2. Supervising physician in the cardiac catheterization or interventional laboratory is responsible for the acts of the radiographer with respect to insertion or removal of peripherally inserted central catheters; and
  3. Facility where the procedure is performed:
    1. Has protocols available for review by the Board;
    2. Documents the training provided to the radiographer; and
    3. Evaluates the radiographer on a regular basis for competency, documents the results of these tests, and makes the results available for inspection by the Board.
No. The scope of practice does not include administering narcotic and sedating medications.
  1. An individual who is licensed by the Maryland Board of Physicians as both a nuclear medicine technologists and a radiographer; OR
  2. Two separate individuals: one who is licensed by the Maryland Board of Physicians (the Board) as a nuclear medicine technologist and one who is licensed by the Board as a radiographer.
A current Maryland license as nuclear medicine technologist who has:
  1. Completed a cross-sectional anatomy class which was part of an approved school's curriculum or consisted of at least 3 continuing education credit hours; and
  2. Performed at least 10 routine head, 20 chest, 10 abdomen, and 10 additional studies of the abdomen or portions of the abdomen under the appropriate supervision; and
  3. Submitted documentation of the completion of the above two items on a form supplied by the Board and received an approval letter from the Board to operate a CT/Nuclear Medicine Device.
A current Maryland license as a nuclear medicine technologist who has:
  1. Successfully passed the ARRT specialty exam for CT;
  2. Performed 20 contrasted CT exams that are documented using a form provided by the Board;
  3. Has submitted documentation to the Board and received an approval letter from the Board operate the CT/Nuclear Medicine Device from the Board.
A nuclear medicine technologist cannot operate a freestanding CT machine.

Fees

Initial Licenses $150.00
Reinstatements $150.00
Renewals* $161.00
Duplicate Licenses $25.00
Name Changes $25.00
*Includes a $26 assessment fee to fund the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) as required by law (MD Code Annotated Health Occ. §1-209).